Runboard.com
You're welcome.

runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

Page:  1  2  3 

 
Drakul Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Caped Crusader
Global user

Registered: 06-2006
Posts: 4313
Reply | Quote
Re: Spiderman Reveals His Identity


the real question is
how the hell could you miss this the first time?


---
Mel

"Could this be...an omen?!!"
6/22/2006, 10:13 am Link to this post Send Email to Drakul   Send PM to Drakul
 
darkknightPGH Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Dark Knight
Global user

Registered: 06-2004
Posts: 856
Reply | Quote
Re: Spiderman Reveals His Identity


Superhero registration is way over played.

I think I've seen the concept in:

-Watchmen
-X-Men
-graphic novel "Golden Age"
-the opening act of Darwyn Cooke's "New Frontier" (GREAT BOOK, read it!)
-Son of Superman

There's tons more out there I can't even think of.

What makes Marvel's Civil War sellable isn't the registration argument, it's the fact that Captain America, the poster boy for patriotism himself, is against it and won't cooperate.

and as for the Batman love interest thing, instead of having one love interest learn his secret and then leave in every movie, I'd rather see Bruce date 2 or 3 girls consistently from film to film, none of them knowing his secret at all. Girls like Veronica Vreeland, Julie Madison, and Selina Kyle of course.

and talia could always come back in a sequel, with or without her father. after all, we didn't see a corpse after the train wreck, and he made a brief speceh implying he might be immortal, so he could very well come back with Talia at his side.
6/23/2006, 10:13 am Link to this post Send Email to darkknightPGH   Send PM to darkknightPGH
 
Drakul Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Caped Crusader
Global user

Registered: 06-2006
Posts: 4313
Reply | Quote
Re: Spiderman Reveals His Identity


yeah and technically can't he be brought quickly for a pit stop and be all good again?

---
Mel

"Could this be...an omen?!!"
6/23/2006, 10:52 am Link to this post Send Email to Drakul   Send PM to Drakul
 
Terry McGinnis Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info


Global user

Registered: 02-2004
Posts: 1943
Reply | Quote
Re: Spiderman Reveals His Identity


Quote:

darkknightPGH wrote:

What makes Marvel's Civil War sellable isn't the registration argument, it's the fact that Captain America, the poster boy for patriotism himself, is against it and won't cooperate.



So you know where this story should be? In a Captain America book. Not a said attempt to make some big story in the Marvel universe. If Captain America is the only reason this story is interesting what about those of us who find The Cap incredibly boring? (Me, for example) Guess that's one more reason I see not to pick this up.

Also, you couldn't be more right, "New Frontier" is an amazing read, especially for fans of Golden and Silver Age comics. And to add one more 'superhero registration' book to the list: Alex Ross' "Kindgdom Come" (just remember right now when I was reading through your list) I wonder how many we can come up with?
6/23/2006, 1:16 pm Link to this post  
 
jokerscrowbar Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Caped Crusader
Global user

Registered: 07-2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 4338
Reply | Quote
Re: Spiderman Reveals His Identity


The previous registration stories were more to do with mutant registration and how some superheroes were for or against it.
The current version is more to do with everyones civil liberties.
Spidey has come out on the Government side whereas Cap has decided that it is an abuse of his freedom.
The paralel with real life is spot on and I hope that it kicks everyone into action against what is happening right now here in the real world.

The FBI/CIA etc. is reading MY posts and MY Emails to protect ME from terrorism. I'm not even American so why should they be allowed to this. It is an abuse of my freedom.

Revolution :soon

---
TJ
---
6/23/2006, 2:05 pm Link to this post Send Email to jokerscrowbar
 
darkknightPGH Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Dark Knight
Global user

Registered: 06-2004
Posts: 856
Reply | Quote
Re: Spiderman Reveals His Identity


i completely overlooked Kingdom Come, shame on me cuz that book is a must-have / must-read. emoticon

was the registration / selling-out in Kingdom Come the part with Luthor's evil group? or was it Superman's ultimatum to the young "whipper snappers" that were ruining the superhero image?

i'm sorry if i spoiled anything, but seriously if you haven't read kingdom come by now, SHAME ON YOU!

the most rediculous part of Spider-Man's reveal is he makes it sound like he's at an addiction therapy group, like Superheroes Anonymous or something.

"hi, my name is Peter Parker, and I've been Spider-Man since I was 15."

"hi, pete." (group hug) now let's all break for coffee and talk about our problems :geez
6/23/2006, 3:47 pm Link to this post Send Email to darkknightPGH   Send PM to darkknightPGH
 
Babsgordonsboytoy Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Caped Crusader
Global user

Registered: 02-2005
Location: Prowling the Shadows of Gotham
Posts: 1623
Reply | Quote
Re: Spiderman Reveals His Identity


Ha Ha Ha Ha, love it.. :rollin Seriously, wish I'd thought that up

I grabbed Civil War # 3 (purely for completism) and after the events of # 2 (in particular the last 2 pages where Spidey / Pete enters 'therapy' ha ha ha) it's the biggest waste of space I've read in years, in fact it even edges out the dross :whack that is currently clogging up the pages of Nightwing..

Not 100% sure but if it doesn't improve I think that when the series (Civil War) ends I'm gonna stick a complete set of 1st prints on eBay unless anyone on here wants 'em..

---
'I've seen too much to be Robin, I'm too optimistic to be Batman.' Rick Grayson - Nightwing
7/29/2006, 10:55 am Link to this post Send Email to Babsgordonsboytoy   Send PM to Babsgordonsboytoy
 
Theopolis Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

BOTB Member
Global user

Registered: 10-2005
Posts: 99
Reply | Quote
Re: Spiderman Reveals His Identity


What's interesting about it to me is how the situation gives each character a chance to show some complexity. Spider-Man looks to have been manipulated and duped by Stark, something which should have lasting repercussions on his life long after the dust of this has settled. I don't read Fantastic Four, but Reed Richards is showing that he has far more understanding of and concern for intellectual and academic pursuits than people. Stark really seems to be out for himself, and as always doesn't seem too concerned with how his actions impact others, beyond paying them lip service.
7/31/2006, 9:00 am Link to this post Send Email to Theopolis   Send PM to Theopolis
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2  3 





You are not logged in (login)